AQ staff, alumni recognized for contributions to journalism at AJAs

    Jacob Moore, Hannah Rudderham and Giuliana Grillo de Lambarri received recognition from the Atlantic Journalism Awards for their contributions to student and professional journalism at St. Thomas University in Fredericton, N.B., on Thursday, April 20, 2023. (Aaron Sousa/AQ)

    Two current staff members of The Aquinian, as well as two former editors, were recognized Thursday night for their contributions to journalism at the Atlantic Journalism Awards (AJAs).

    Giuliana Grillo de Lambarri, the newly-elected editor-in-chief of The Aquinian, and Jacob Moore, the AQ’s current features editor, accepted awards for their contributions to student journalism during a ceremony at St. Thomas University.

    Grillo de Lambarri worked as The Aquinian’s news editor and as its senior writer, while Moore has also served as The Aquinian’s video producer.

    According to the Atlantic Journalism Awards, work being nominated for student awards must have been created while nominees are registered students at a post-secondary institution in Atlantic Canada. The work must also be related to a subject specific to one or more of the four Atlantic provinces.

    The Atlantic Journalism Awards, founded in 1981, is a non-profit that aims to “encourage and reward exceptional journalistic effort.”

    Former staff members of The Aquinian were also recognized at the AJAs for their contributions in professional journalism.

    Hannah Rudderham, who served as The AQ’s editor-in-chief for the 2021-22 academic year, was a silver recipient of the Jim MacNeill New Journalist Award.

    Rudderham is currently a journalist at CBC New Brunswick.

    Karissa Donkin, an investigative journalist also at CBC New Brunswick, served as news editor of The Aquinian in 2011. She received a silver recognition in sports reporting for work “Equity on ice.”